HOME » CROSSusers » Call for Proposals » 2014A
The 9th AONSA/The 2nd Neutron and Muon School Meet@MLF

[CLOSED]Announcement of the MLF Public Beamline User Program for 2014A

Call for Proposals

CROSS-Tokai is pleased to announce the Call for Proposals to use the Public Beamlines at the Materials and Life Science Experimental Facility of J-PARC in the 2014A operations period.

2014A Operations Period:April 2014 - November 2014

Please be aware that this operations period spans the customary summer shutdown period (July – Sept) during which no user beam is available.

Proposal Submission Deadline:17:00 (JST) Thursday 7 November 2013

Users wishing to conduct experiments at any of the MLF Public Beamlines during 2014A should submit proposals via the web-based J-PARC Proposal Submission System . Proposal submissions for 2014A will be accepted from 17 October 2013 until the deadline shown above.

Beam power

It is anticipated that the power of the proton beam delivered to the MLF neutron targetin 2014A will be 300 kW.

MLF Public Beamlines Available in 2014A

The following Public Beamline neutron instruments will be available for user experiments in the 2014A operations period.

Prospective users are encouraged to contact the relevant instrument scientist (See below) for up-to-date information about the beamlines and help with experiment planning.

J-PARC⋅MLF Public Beamlines

Beamline Instrument Name Contact MLF
CROSS-Tokai
BL01
4SEASONS
4D-Space Access Neutron Spectrometer Dr Ryoichi Kajimoto
E: ryoichi.kajimoto@j-parc.jp
Dr Jun-ichi Suzuki
E: j_suzuki@cross.or.jp
BL02
DNA
Biomolecular Dynamics Spectrometer Dr Kaoru Shibata
E: shibata.kaoru@jaea.go.jp
Dr Kazuya Kamazawa
E: k_kamazawa@cross.or.jp
BL11
PLANET
High-Pressure Neutron Diffractometer Dr Takanori Hattori
E: hattori.takanori@jaea.go.jp
Dr Kenichi Funakoshi
E: k_funakoshi@cross.or.jp
BL15
TAIKAN
Small and Wide Angle Neutron Scattering Instrument Dr Jun-ichi Suzuki
E: j_suzuki@cross.or.jp
Dr Kazuki Ohishi
E: k_ohishi@cross.or.jp
BL17
SHARAKU
Polarized Neutron Reflectometer Dr Masayasu Takeda
E: takeda.masayasu@jaea.go.jp
Dr Tazuko Mizusawa
E: t_mizusawa@cross.or.jp
BL18
SENJU
Extreme Environment Single Crystal Neutron Diffractometer Dr Takashi Ohhara
E: takashi.ohhara@j-parc.jp
Dr Akiko Nakao
E: a_nakao@cross.or.jp

For a full list of the MLF beamlines and more information about the instruments, please follow this link:

Other important information

Request to Applicants

Starting in the 2014A round, applicants will be asked in the Proposal Submission System to indicate if their research proposal has affinity with the Japanese national priority research areas as identified in the Elements Strategy Initiative .

Similarly, applicants will be asked if the proposed research includes, or is likely to include in the future, the Complementary Use of other major research facilities such as, but not limited to, synchrotron radiation sources (SPring-8, PF etc.), the "K" next generation supercomputer, or other quantum beam facilities.

If either of the above apply to your proposal, please indicate by marking the relevant checkbox and adding a brief description as requested.

We thank-you for your cooperation and assistance in this regard.

Contact us

J-PARC Center Users Office
IBARAKI Quantum Beam Research Center, 162-1 Shirakata, Tokai-mura, Naka-gun, Ibaraki 319-1106, Japan
T : +81-29-284-3398
F : +81-29-284-3286
E : j_proposal*ml.j-parc.jp